Organisation Structure

Res Artis is an international Non-Governmental (NGO) and Non-profit organisation (NPO), registered as a foundation in the Netherlands.

We are governed by the volunteer efforts of our Board as well as our Staff working in our offices in the Netherlands, Australia and Iran.





Eliza Roberts – Executive Director – is the inaugural Executive Director of Res  Artis focused on fundraising, public profile and strategy for the organisation. Eliza served on the Res Artis Board of Directors from 2012 to 2016. Prior, Eliza worked as Arts Residencies Manager at Asialink. Eliza has worked at a range of local and international institutions and organisations including Christie’s auction house in London, The Ian Potter Museum of Art & Artbank. Eliza holds a MA Art Curatorship and BA Creative Arts, both from the University of Melbourne.



Birte Gehm – Communications and Operations Manager  – is in charge of communication matters and administration at the Res Artis headquarter office in Amsterdam. Birte obtained a double Master’s Degree in Global Studies from Roskilde University (Denmark) and Leipzig University (Germany). During her undergraduate degree she studied at Heidelberg University (Germany) and Lindenwood University (United States) and holds a degree in translation studies.



Maryam Bagheri – MENASA Cluster Coordinator –  focuses on the MENASA (Middle East, North Africa, South Asia) region. Maryam also works as Arts Residencies Manager for Res Artis member, Kooshk Residency, in Tehran. She holds a BA in English Literature, and has diverse experience in documentary filmmaking, researching, film archiving and journalism.

Board of Directors

Res Artis Board Members are charged with the legal and financial responsibility of the organisation, as outlined by the Res Artis Articles of Association governed by Dutch Law. Members of the Board are elected after receiving an advisory vote of the Res Artis membership. The terms are 2-years and may be renewed for up to three consecutive terms for a total of 8 years. Board Meetings are held every two months via Skype. Furthermore, the Res Artis Board and staff convene for a strategy meeting every five years. The complete summary of the board position can be read in the Position Description Res Artis Board Members.

The Res Artis Board comprises four Officer positions:

  • President
  • Vice President
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer


Lea O’Loughlin – President (United Kingdom) – is the Co-Director of Acme Studios in London. Holding an MA in Contemporary Art from Sotheby’s Institute of Art London and BA of Visual Arts from the University of South Australia, her previous experience includes working with The Royal British Society of Sculptors, The Florence Trust, Tate, Gasworks, Cubitt Artists (United Kingdom), MoMA (United States) and Adelaide Central Gallery & Studios (Australia).


Frederik Hardvendel – Vice-President (Denmark), who has background as a graphic designer, is Director of the Danish Art Workshops. He has been managing creative enterprises in Denmark and abroad and has been Head of Design of the Danish Broadcasting Corporation. Frederik has been Chairman at the International Ceramic Research Centre and in the Steering Committee for interdisciplinary leadership in the Ministry of Culture. He has recently joined the board of Art Hub Copenhagen


Jean-Baptiste Joly – Board Member (Germany) was the Founding and Artistic Director of Akademie Schloss Solitude, Germany’s largest artist residency program from 1989 to 2018. He also served as one of the founding members of Res Artis in 1993. From 1983-1988 he was the director of the French Cultural Institute, Stuttgart. Jean-Baptiste has experience in international support of emerging residencies, invention of new fellowship programs, interdisciplinarity, alumni policy strategies and network activities.


Tooraj Khamenehzadeh – Board Member (Iran) is an artist and curator lives between New York and Tehran. His works have been presented in various international festivals, exhibitions and biennials such as  Monnaie de Paris (France), Polyforme Festival (France), and also published in different books and magazines. He received his BS in computer engineering from Qazvin Azad University in Iran and his MFA in Photo, Video and Related Media from School of Visual Arts in New York. He is co-founder and a board member of Rybon Art Center, a board member of Res Artis as well as program advisor of Kooshk Residency in Tehran.


Luigi Galimberti – Board Member (Italy) was director of Transnational Dialogues, an exchange from 2012 to 2016. Luigi holds a BA in sociology from the London School of Economics and a MA in management for the arts and culture from IULM University. He has more than 7 years of experience working as a project manager in the cultural sector, and was awarded the Chartered Manager status by the Chartered Management Institute (UK) in March 2017. Luigi is currently Collection Care Research Manager at Tate in London.


Clymene Christoforou – Board Member(United Kingdom) is the director of D6:Culture in Transit. Clymene is Chair of International Newcastle, a partnership between civil society, the municipality and the universities to promote internationalism across the City. Further afield she is an expert advisor to United Cities and Local Governments and Culture Action Europe’s Pilot Cities program. With the British Council and the Creative Europe team in Ukraine, she’s an advisor to the Culture Bridges program.


Mella Jaarsma – Board Member (Netherlands/Indonesia) studied visual art at Minerva Academy in Groningen (1978-1984) and studied at the Art Institute of Jakarta (1984) & at the Indonesian Institute of the Arts in Yogyakarta (1985-1986). In 1988, Mella co-founded Cemeti Institute for Art & Society with Nindityo Adipurnomo, the first space for contemporary art in Indonesia. As an artist, Mella Jaarsma has become known for her complex costume installations, and her works have been presented widely in exhibitions and art events in Indonesia and abroad.